## 2015-2016 Nominating Committee

Howard Procyshyn, P.Eng. FEC (*Chair*)
Allan Ball, P.Eng. FEC
Edwin Sapnu, P.Eng.
Aimee Intac-Leung, P.Eng.
Raymond Reichelt, P.Geo.
Lesley McFarlane, P.Eng.
Kristen Myles, P.Eng.
Jonathan Epp, P.Eng.
Wally Jackson, P.Eng.
Grant Koropatnick, P.Eng. FEC

In 2016, the Nominating Committee met two times with follow-up committee communication via email as required. The committee established a slate of nine candidates for three vacant engineering positions, two candidates for one vacant geoscience position.

In accordance with the governance policies related to the Nominating Committee's work (GP-8.1) and relating to Council succession (GP-6), the committee sought to establish the broadest possible diversity among the slate of candidates, including but not limited to gender, age, industry sector, engineering discipline, and ethnic background. Subsequent to Council approval of the slate, two candidates for the engineering positions and one candidate for the Member-in-Training position withdrew due to other commitments on their time. Three Councillors terms have ended. Two agreed to be let their names stand for re-election. Each candidate was required to present six signatures. Additional nominations may be made from the membership up to 42 days prior to the Annual General Meeting.

The chair of the Nominating Committee is also responsible for the committee that appoints the Appointed Councillors whose terms have ended. This year, two of the Appointed Councillors' terms expired.

In accordance with the Act and By-laws, consent letters were requested from the Minister of Labour and Immigration, the Dean of Engineering at the University of Manitoba, and the Provincial Ombudsperson approving the appointment for a two year term. With this appointment and the existing appointments on Council whose terms continue until fall 2017, the requirements for the constitution of council in section 7 of the Act relative to Appointed Councillors will be met.

