Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists

of the

Province of Manitoba

Honourary Life Membership

to

LEONARD A. BATEMAN

B.Sc. (E.E.), M.Sc., P.Eng.

Leonard Bateman became registered with this Association on October 19, 1948, and has been a member continuously for 52 years. He graduated from the University of Manitoba with a B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering in 1942 and a M.Sc. in 1948.

Leonard was a member of Council from 1956 to 1960, and was President in 1958.

He also served four more years on Council from 1982 to 1986. He served on the Executive & Finance Committee for three years, the Advisory Committee for one year, the E.I.C. Management Committee for one year, the Plan for Unity Committee for four years, the Architects/Engineers Committee for one year, the Legislation Committee for one year, the Awards Committee for six years, the Old Pinawa Committee for one year, and the Past Presidents Committee since 1998. This totals 28 committee years of service.

Leonard received the Association's Merit Award in 1976.

Leonard was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Manitoba Hydro from 1972 to 1979. He was the last person to hold both positions. After retiring from Manitoba Hydro in 1979 Leonard formed "Bateman and Associates Ltd". Leonard is active in volunteering his time and services.

Honorary Life Membership is granted to Leonard Bateman in grateful recognition of his many years of dedicated service to APEGM and his outstanding contributions to the engineering profession.

October 28, 2000

John R. Hosang, P.Eng.	
President	
 David A. Ennis, P.Eng.	